naruto watch order

Naruto Watch Order: How to Watch the Show

Naruto is an epic saga that you can watch over and over with the excitement of a child every time. The story of Naruto, however, is a long one and is broken into several parts with canonical arcs, filler arcs, OVA’s, movies, and manga chapters.

Here’s the correct Naruto watch order so you don’t get lost.

An Introduction to Naruto

An Introduction to Naruto

Image source: Pinterest

Naruto tells the story of an orphaned boy in a village of ninjas, or shinobi, who is hated and ostracized by everyone in his village because of the spirit of the nine-tailed demon fox sealed inside him. He has no apparent talent or skills and yet he overflows with conviction and potential.

His goal is to become the Hokage (the village leader), so that everyone in the village will accept and acknowledge him. But the ninja world can be cruel and unforgiving to pure souls with dreams.

Naruto is a story of determination, soul-crushing loneliness, training and hardship, war and violence, and sacrifice for the sake of your comrades. The inspirational themes and meanings in Naruto have made it one of the top 5 most viewed anime of all time.

How Many Parts of Naruto Are There?

Naruto falls into 3 separate series or parts — Naruto, Naruto Shippuden, and Boruto: Next Generations. Each of these series contains movies and OVAs that sometimes are or aren’t relevant to the canonical storyline of the manga.

1. Naruto (2002–2007)


Image source: Pinterest

This is where the story of Naruto begins. Naruto and his new friends have just graduated from the ninja academy into Genin (the lowest rank for a working ninja). They still have a long way to go, developing their jutsu, mastering the fundamentals of chakra, and advancing through the ranks.

Naruto, Sakura, and Sasuke are a three-man squad led by the Jonin (highest ninja rank) Kakashi Hatake. They go through vigorous battles together and grow stronger rapidly, but Sasuke falls into darkness. He wants to avenge his clan by killing his brother Itachi Uchiha but lacks the power.

In his thirst for power, he joins the main antagonist of the series up to this point, Orochimaru, who has tried to destroy the village multiple times. He deserts his friends and leaves the village, but Naruto is hell-bent on bringing his friend back no matter what.

2. Naruto Shippuden (2007– 2017)

Naruto Shippuden

Image source: Pinterest

Naruto Shippuden begins after a three-year time jump from the end of Naruto. Sasuke has left the village and is training with Orochimaru to get stronger, while Naruto is also away from the village, training with the legendary Master Jiraiya to get stronger so he can bring Sasuke back.

The first episode of Naruto Shippuden begins when Naruto returns to the village with improved skills after his 3-year training. Kakashi, Sakura, and Naruto are all still determined to bring Sasuke back, but there’s a new enemy in town. A mysterious organization of elite ninja criminals known as the Akatsuki is after Naruto and the tailed beast that resides within him.

Their goal is to use the power of the tailed beasts to achieve world domination. A full-scale war is about to ensue. Naruto now needs to train even harder to fight them off and bring Sasuke back to the village.

3. Boruto: Naruto Next Generations (2017–ongoing)


Image source: Pinterest

It has been over a decade since the fourth great ninja war. The world of Shinobi is finally at peace after centuries of war and strife. Sasuke has returned to the village and Naruto has fulfilled his dream of becoming the Hokage and is now the strongest shinobi in the world.

Boruto is Naruto’s son, and the entire series follows the story of the next generation of shinobi, after Naruto and his friends. But Boruto, while bearing resemblance to his father, is nothing like him.

He is a skilled and adept ninja with plenty of friends, the best family a person could have, and a bright future. However, in the cruel and unforgiving world of shinobi, all of this can be taken away.

The Naruto Watch Order

Watch Order

The story and character of Naruto are one of anime’s greatest treasures, best enjoyed chronologically. Here’s the order in which to watch the episodes of the series and the movies, OVAs, and special manga chapters. You start with Naruto, then Naruto Shippuden, and then Boruto: Naruto Next Generations.

Please note that this list isn’t in order of the date-aired but the time and place in the canonical story that each episode, OVA, or movie belongs to.

· Naruto (Total 220 Episodes, 3 OVAs, and 3 Movies)

#1. Anime – Episode 1 to 5

#2. OVA – Find the Four-Leaf Red Clover!

#3. Anime – Episode 6 to 19

#4. OVA – Naruto: The Cross Roads

#5. Anime – Episode 20 to 101

#6. OVA – Mission: Protect the Waterfall Village!

#7. Movie – Naruto the Movie: Ninja Clash in the Land of Snow

#8. Anime – Episode 102 to 160

#9. Movie – Naruto the Movie: The Legend of the Stone of Gelel

#10. Anime – Episode 161 to 196

#11. Movie – Naruto the Movie: Guardians of the Crescent Moon Kingdom

#12. Anime – Episode 197 to 220

· Naruto Shippuden (Total 500 Episodes, 7 Movies, 4 OVAs, And 3 Special Manga Chapters)

#1. Anime – Episode 1 to 32

#2. Movie – Naruto Shippuden the Movie

#3. Anime – Episode 32 to 71

#4. Movie – Naruto Shippuden the Movie: Bonds

#5. Anime – Episode 72 to 126

#6. Movie – Naruto Shippuden the Movie: The Will of Fire

#7. Anime – Episode 127 to 143

#8. Movie – Naruto Shippuden the Movie: The Lost Tower

#9. Anime – Episode 144 to 196

#10. Movie – Naruto the Movie: Blood Prison

#11. Anime – Episode 197 to 219

#12. OVA – Chunin Exam on Fire! Naruto vs. Konohamaru!

#13. Anime – Episode 220 to 251

#14. Movie – Road to Ninja: Naruto the Movie

#15. OVA – Sunny Side Battle

#16. OVA – Ninja Escapades

#17. Anime – Episode 252 to 483

#18. Manga – Kakashi Hiden: Lightning in the Icy Sky

#19. Anime – Episode 489 to 493

#20. Movie – The Last: Naruto the Movie

#21. Manga – Sakura Hiden: Thoughts of Love, Riding Upon a Spring Breeze

#22. Anime – Episode 494 to 500

#23. Manga – Gaara Hiden: A Sandstorm Mirage

#24. Manga – Akatsuki Hiden: Evil Flowers in Full Bloom

#25. Anime – Episode 484 to 488

#26. OVA – The Day Naruto Became Hokage

· Boruto: Naruto Next Generations (Ongoing Series)

#1. Anime – Episode 1 to 54

#2. Movie – Boruto: Naruto the Movie

#3. Anime – Episode 54 to 202

A Few Parting Words

Naruto isn’t just a show, it is a journey. It will make you laugh, cry, agitated, anxious, and inspired. It is an emotional rollercoaster and a trove of values that the real world needs, but is often missing.

Make sure you start your journey in the Naruto watch order listed here to fully experience the vitality of the story in this anime.

Also Read: 14 Hot Anime Girls: Who Makes You Swoon?

Featured image source:

Previous Post Next Post